Saturday, October 16, 2021
HomeUncategorizedAfter record-tying Indy win, Helio tops HOF class

After record-tying Indy win, Helio tops HOF class

INDIANAPOLIS — Helio Castroneves celebrated his document-tying fourth Indianapolis 500 victory in May well.

The rewards are nonetheless rolling in.

When the well-liked 46-year-previous Brazilian driver returned to Indianapolis Motor Speedway on Thursday, monitor officials introduced him with a bronze brick, and on Friday, he was named as the headliner of the 9-member Motorsports Corridor of Fame of The usa induction class for 2022.

“The determination has constantly been there,” Castroneves stated. “It is not about the title. I by no means missing religion. I wouldn’t be going within the helmet if I failed to assume I experienced a prospect to do well. For me, that retains me appropriate there on the edge, and the opposition in the IndyCar Sequence, it is so aggressive that if you sneeze, you drop a tenth.”

Castroneves, the open up-wheel collection, will be joined by longtime NASCAR operator Jack Roush, Pete Brock from athletics cars, Dick LaHaie from drag racing, NASCAR co-founder Raymond Parks, NASCAR builder Banjo Matthews and Denise McCluggage in the media class though motorcycle innovators Trey Vance and Byron Hines will go in as a one entry.

Roush was the mastermind of extra than 300 Cup Collection wins. Brock built the 1965 environment champion Cobra Daytona coupes. LaHaie is the only person to acquire NHRA Best Fuel titles as a driver and a crew chief.

The remaining inductee will be named later on this thirty day period.

George Levy, president of the Florida-based mostly Corridor of Fame, reported half of the 200 ballots arrive from journalists and historians and the other 50 % is from Hall of Fame associates. He reported this year’s votes ended up cast just before Castroneves grew to become the first international-born driver to get four 500s.

But it certainly extra to his first-ballot résumé.

In addition to the 4 Indy wins, Castroneves is the previous back-to-again winner in 2001 and 2002 and was the 500 Rookie of the Yr in 2001. He is concluded in the top rated five nine situations at Indy, together with three runner-up finishes, and has manufactured the major 10 in 15 of 21 career Indy starts off.

Castroneves’ 6 career CART wins and 25 IndyCar wins give him 31 over-all, tied with Paul Tracy and three-time Indy winner Dario Franchitti for No. 10 all-time. His 47 vocation poles also rank among the all-time leaders.

Most of those successes arrived although he put in 23 seasons driving for powerhouse Group Penske. He won this year’s 500 with Meyer Shank Racing, the staff he will signify in Saturday’s Indianapolis Grand Prix.

“To announce it currently, at the area where Helio made heritage just a couple of months ago, is awesome,” speedway president Doug Boles reported. “I know George talked about the very first overseas-born winner, but I think a whole lot of individuals listed here take into account you a Hoosier.”

Levy also introduced a trophy to longtime auto racing writer and television analyst Robin Miller, a 2021 inductee.

“You can find a knack to selecting talent at a place like this, and I consider the pace and the intensity just suit appropriate in Helio’s wheelhouse,” Miller said. “I feel he is a single of the men who was made to race here. Seem how shut Helio is to becoming a six-time winner, what, 40 ft?”

Source connection



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

- Advertisment -

Most Popular

Recent Comments